Tuesday, July 28, 2020

Fragmented Dialogue

image by Thomas Park

This mix was a lot of fun! 

Back in April, Peter van Cooten, of Ambientblog, created the awesome mix, Lockdown. After it posted we talked about doing a collaboration mix. As Peter is in Holland and I am in the States we would send files back and forth to each other adding more tracks with every pass. We had to decide on a theme and a format. In the end the format became the theme.

It worked like this:
We each take 5 minute turns and increase the sample count with each turn. So in the first turn we each start with a 5 minute track. Next turn we each use two samples, next turn 3, then 4...until we get to the final turn where each 5 minute turn contains 6 samples each. When all is said and done we end up with 42 samples used in a 60 minute mix.

Peter is the master of layering multiple tracks or samples to create interesting mixes. I generally don't use quite that number of cuts in my mixes so I knew it was going to be a challenge. We worried that it would turn into a situation where it sounded like a good idea at the time until we had to actually do it.

I think it turned out great! It was really cool trying to match of the outro of the previous segment to my new tracks but still make my own segments unique. Somehow this crazy format produced a fascinating mix.

After finishing the mix Peter came up with the title "Fragmented Dialogue" which fit perfectly with how this beast was put together. The cover art is courtesy of Thomas Park and you can find his work here... https://archive.org/details/thomaspark

I'm excited to have this mix published in three places at the same time - Low Light Mixes, Ambientblog & Headphone Commute. Both Ambientblog & HC are my favorite places to go for ambient reviews and mixes. Here are their posts about this mix...



I hope you enjoy listening to this mix as much as we enjoyed creating it.


T R A C K L I S T :   Ambientblog = Red    Low Light Mixes = Aqua

00:00    Yair Elazar Glotman/Mats Erlandsson - Procession (Emanate 2020)

05:10    William Ryan Fritch - Dream Glitch-Fugue State-Broken Barriers (The Letdown 2020)

09:45     Apparat - Suicide (Soundtracks: Stay Still, 2020)
11:18     Biosphere - You Want To See It Too (Departed Glories, 2016)

15:00    Ashlar - The First Saturday (Saturday Drones 2012)
18:45    echospace - Fallen Tribes Reduced (echospace [detroit] presents echoes in space 2014)

19:31    Sonologyst - Planetary Warning (Unexplained Sounds (New Edition), 2020 )
20:26    Michael Begg & Clodagh Simonds - Witness 3 (Witness 3, 2020)
22:36    Alva Noto - Xerrox Apesanteur (Xerrox 4, 2020)

24:55    Max Richter - Encounter (Ad Astra 2019)
25:38    Mono-Poly - Maanreflectie(Hainbach remix 2020)
27:21    cinchel - porch swings (A House Once Lived That Never Was 2014)

29:30 Carmen Villain - Affection In A Time Of Crisis (Affection In A Time Of Crisis, 2020)
31:18 Stephen O'Malley - Géante 4 - Layer 5 Mix (Géante 4, 2020)
32:30 Abul Mogard, Quiet Dreams (Above All Dreams, 2018)
33:35 Black Glass Ensemble & Friends - Be Mine In Patience: An Embrace in B Minor (Be Mine In Patience: An Embrace in B Minor, 2020)

34:55    Halftribe - Fader (Archipelago 2020)
36:20    Radio Bulgaria
37:03    teleferick - i.history favours the winners (sixteen frames 2017)
38:15    Test Card - Monochrome Dreaming Softened The Broadcast (Music For The Towers 2020)

39:40 Michel Banabila - Scripts of the Lagoon (Scripts Of The Lagoon - Exploratorium, 2020)
41:04 Kamila Govorcin - Rito De Muerte (Anima, 2020)
41:15 Chris Watson - Gobabeb (Touch Isolation, 2020)
43:04 Gia Margaret - Body (Mia Gargaret, 2020)
43:10 Aleksi Myllykoski with Tapani Rinne - Lost Marbles (Dark Days, 2020)

44:48    Masaya Ozaki - subtlety in reverse (Fluid And Dreaming Of Stripes 2015)
46:12    Andrew Pekler - Nocturne 3 (nocturnes, false dawns & breakdowns 2004)
47:05    The Focus Group - Hazy Time (Stop-Motion Happening 2017)
48:00    Les Halles - K (World 2012)
49:24    Sonmi451 - Umi Bear (Eilean 100 2019)

49:50 Radiomentale - Gotlander (I-Land (Redux), 2020)
51:54 Ian William Craig - Comma (Red Sun Through Smoke, 2020)
52:50 Sylvain Chauveau - Q (Life Without Machines, 2020)
53:29 Sample, THX 1138 (THX 1138, 1971)
53:34 Elegi - Lys & Lykte (Gap In Time, 2020)
54:26 The Future Eve feat. Robert Wyatt - 04.02 (Kitsune / Brian the Fox - Kitsune Ring Version, 2019)

55:00    The Insects - This is Where You Say Goodbye (DEVS soundtrack 2020)
55:30    Seabuckthorn - Unforeseen (Other Other 2020)
56:21    Alva Noto - Xerrox Voyage (Xerrox Vol. 4 2020)
57:10    Laurie Anderson - Life Lived Backwards (Heart of a Dog 2015)
58:21    Laurie Anderson - The Cloud (Heart of a Dog 2015)
59:01    Helios - All You Are (Remembrance 2016)
60:00    end

Sunday, July 19, 2020

Not seeing is a flower

This mix came about from an idea by a listener, Kevin. He suggested a mix based on artists from Japan. I asked for track recommendations and Kevin came back with an entire list. That list fills out most of this mix. I added tracks by Hiroshi Yoshimura, Geskia!, Sawako and Akira Kosemura.

Kevin also suggested the title - "Not seeing is a flower" which means that reality can't compete with imagination. The mix itself is a fairly straight forward mix of ambient tracks from Japan.

Thanks to Kevin for doing all the heavy lifting on this mix. I think it turned out great.


[ s t r e a m ]    [ d o w n l o a d ]    [ i t u n e s ]

T R A C K L I S T :

  • 00:00    Minamo - Zeitraum
  • 05:58    Takashi Kokubo - Memory of summer
  • 12:36    Yoshiaki Ochi - Ear Dreamin'
  • 16:59    Fumio Miyashita - See The Light(Abridged)
  • 19:48    Hiroshi Yoshimura - Water Copy
  • 22:54    Geskia! - Lampland
  • 27:52    Sawako - Incense Of Voice
  • 32:00    Takahiro Kido - Rust Summer in Tokyo
  • 37:25    Mokyow - Small Small Flag
  • 44:20    Chihei Hatakeyama - Starlight And Black Echo
  • 48:54    Hakobune - Letter Forgotten
  • 53:35    Masashi Kitamura & Phonogenix - Variation III
  • 56:27    Satoshi Ashikawa - Still Space
  • 58:08    Akira Kosemura - Hicari
  • 60:00    end