Saturday, March 25, 2017

City Centre Offices - Impact & Inspiration

This week marks the final transmission of the wonderful record label, City Centre Offices.  Their style of electronic music was new to me at the time and I devoured their releases with a rapacious glee.  I think I have somewhere between 40 - 50 CCO recordings.

City Centre Offices has been silent for a number of years and I hate to admit that I'd sort of forgotten about them.  But now this week brings one final release, Boy Robot - Final Transmission.  So with the end of CCO officially here, I thought I'd collect a few favorites in a new mix.  There is so much great music that came from CCO that I could have done mixes that were hours long but I kept this one to the standard 1 hour.

Rather than go on and on rhapsodically about what a marvelous label City Centre Offices is, I'll direct you to this excellent article over at A Strangely Isolated Place -
Great stories, insight and music in that ASIP reminiscence.  The good folks at ASIP also put together a terrific Spotify playlist of CCO music.

I hope you enjoy this little stroll down memory lane as much as I did.


T R A C K L I S T:
  • 0:00    Arovane - A Secret
  • 04:00    Casino versus Japan - Late for School
  • 09:45    Herrmann & Kleine - Transalpin
  • 15:40    Ulrich Schnauss - Between Us & Them
  • 22:00    Xela - Softness of Senses
  • 26:06    Christian Kleine - Guitar Interrupt
  • 29:48    Dub Tractor - 50Hz Guitar
  • 35:17    Opiate - Open
  • 37:26    Boy Robot - Glamorizing Corporate Lifestyle
  • 40:40    Bitstream - Stream One
  • 44:40    Styrofoam - Cashier Escape Song
  • 50:33    Dictaphone - Dictaphone II
  • 53:24    Swod - Intro
  • 54:14    Marsen Jules - Chanson Du Soir
  • 58:42    Ulrich Schnauss - Gone Forever
  • 66:23    END

Thursday, March 09, 2017

a slow thaw 2017

I haven't had time lately for new mixes but I wanted to get something up on Mixcloud so I thought I'd resurrect an old mix.  This mix was originally done 10 years ago.  Yikes!  I can't believe I've been doing this that long.

There were a few tracks in the original mix that I didn't really like anymore so I added a few new ones and took out a few old cuts.  The new tracks are by Tilman Robinson, Loess, Murcof & Venessa Wagner, and Delia Derbyshire Appreciation Society.

I hope to get back on track with new mixes coming more frequently. There's also a guest mix coming very soon.


T R AC K L I S T :
  • 00:00    Tilman Robinson - Bathed in Her
  • 05:55    Michael Brook - Earth Alone
  • 07:25    Windy & Carl - Akimatsuri
  • 12:25    Underworld & Gabriel Yared - St. Pancras
  • 15:45    Loess - Striae
  • 20:15    Oblong - Rendevous
  • 23:22    Rafael Anton Irisarri - Waking Expectations
  • 29:25    Green Kingdom - Autumn Toadlick
  • 35:15    Xela - Bobble Hats in Summer
  • 40:20    Chihei Hatakeyama - Granular Haze
  • 43:10    Daisuke Miyatani - Yu
  • 44:10    Eluvium | Requium on Frankfort Ave.
  • 46:25    Dollboy | Hatterjax
  • 51:25    Murcof & Vanessa Wagner - Aphex Twin Avril 14th.
  • 55:10    Delia Derbyshire Appreciation Society - Half Light